< Canadian Flag >Canada is the northern country above the United States known for great skiing, super nice people, and overuse of the interjection, “eh.” Separated from the U.S. by 45 parallel, the Canadian-United States border is the longest international border in the world. It makes sense if you know these are the fourth and second largest countries in the world by area. Included in this border are the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence River, and part of the Atlantic and Pacific coasts. The dislocated U.S. state, Alaska, is separated from the U.S. by Canada.

< Niagara Falls >Canada has eight territories: from west to east, Yukon, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, and New Brunswick. Canada stretches north to the Arctic Circle, where there are a few settlements. Canada is home to large, multicultural cities like Toronto, Montreal, Quebec City, and Vancouver. It crosses the Rocky Mountains and is home to some of the biggest ski resorts in North America, including Banff National Park and Whistler Resort. It also is home to the remarkably wide Niagara Falls on the U.S.-Canadian border.

Canada is mostly English-speaking, but the province Quebec has a French heritage, and French is the primary language. Canada’s government is the federal administration of Canada, or Queen-in-Council, meaning the queen acts as the core of its Westminster-style parliamentary democracy.